Introduction   On Racism   Epigraphs   A History of the Pulps   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z   

Glossary and Character Taxonomy  Breakdown by Country of Origin   Bibliography   Table of Contents    The Best of the Encyclopedia

Kent, Dick. Dick Kent was created by “Milton Richards,” the pen-name of Milo Milton Oblinger, and appeared in the ten-book “Dick Kent” series (also known as the “Boys of the Royal Mounted” series), beginning with Dick Kent with the Mounted Police (1927) and concluding with Dick Kent and the Mine Mystery (1934).

Dick Kent and his best chum Sandy McClaren are Americans who are visiting Kent’s grandparents somewhere in Canada’s northwest when they discover a criminal conspiracy. Kent and McClaren end up befriending Toma, a local “Indian” boy their own age, and together they capture the criminals and turn them over to the Royal North West Mounted Police. Over the course of the next nine novels Kent, McClaren and Toma take on criminal “Eskimos,” a murderous fur trapper, and other Canadian-type bad guys.

Table of Contents / Annotations / Blog / Books / Patreon / Twitter / Contact me